DUI

Violations of DUI Louisiana laws are taken seriously by responding law enforcement officers and the court system. Part of the potentially severe penalties associated with convictions of violating GUI laws in Louisiana stems from the consistent level of alcohol related traffic deaths seen in the state each year. According to the NHTSA in 2007, fatal crashes involving alcohol caused 981 deaths in the state of Louisiana alone! For this reason, along with the continued prevalence of DUI across the state, lawmakers have instituted a rigid and progressively harsher punishment schedule for those convicted of driving under the influence in the state of Louisiana.

For persons facing charges of DUI in Louisiana, the following bullets highlight the potential consequences associated with these charges, including:

First Offense DUI Conviction in Louisiana:

  • Incarceration minimum of 10 days up to maximum of 6 months, of which all can be suspended
  • Driver’s license suspension of one year
  • Community service mandates of up to 240 hours
  • Fines not including court costs and other associated legal fees of $300 up to $1,000
  • Mandatory substance abuse inquiry and driver counseling

Second Offense DUI Conviction in Louisiana:

  • Incarceration minimum of 30 days up to maximum of 6 months, of which all but two days can be suspended
  • Driver’s license suspension of one year
  • Community service mandates of up to 240 hours
  • Fines not including court costs and other associated legal fees of $750 up to $1,000
  • Mandatory substance abuse re-inquiry and further driver re-education

Third Offense DUI Conviction in Louisiana:

  • Incarceration minimum of one year up to maximum of five years, of which all but six months can be suspended
  • Driver’s license suspension of two years
  • Community service mandates of up to 240 hours
  • Fines not including court costs and other associated legal fees at a mandatory $2,000
  • Mandatory substance abuse re-inquiry and further driver re-education
  • Seizure and forfeiture of vehicle operated during DUI arrest

Fourth Offense DUI Conviction in Louisiana:

  • Incarceration minimum of ten years up to maximum of thirty years, of which all but two years can be suspended
  • Driver’s license suspension of two years
  • Community service mandates of up to 240 hours
  • Fines not including court costs and other associated legal fees at a mandatory $5,000
  • Seizure and forfeiture of vehicle operated during DUI arrest

DUI Louisiana Cleansing Period:

In the state of Louisiana, there is a ten year period before prior arrests will not affect the sentencing of a current DUI conviction. In other words, if your second DUI arrest is more than ten years following the first, you will be charged according to the sentencing guidelines for the first offense DUI charges in the state of Louisiana. However, if any portion of these ten years were spent incarcerated, this time does not count towards the ten year cleansing period.

Comments are closed.